the time travel meme

1. Depending on your age, go back 10, 15, 20, or even more years.
2. Tell us how many years back you have traveled and why.
3. Pretend you have met yourself during that era, and tell us where you are.
4. You only have one “date” with this former self.
5. Answer these questions.

Okay, as we start, what year is it and how old are you?

1990 aged 20, 20 years ago, because, well, it’s all so beautifully symmetrical, innit? I’d have either been in Kwazulu Natal, about to leave South Africa, or in London.

1. Would your younger self (YYS, from here) recognize you when you first meet?

Probably.

2. Would YYS be surprised to discover what you are doing job wise?

Considering that in 1990 I looked after parrots and then worked in a Tunisian bakery, I guess I’d be surprised to hear that I’m an editor now, but maybe not altogether – words have always been my oxygen.

3. What piece of fashion advice would you give YYS?

Lose the hippy crap – go skater.

4. What do you think YYS is most going to want to know?

If she made it.

5. How would you answer YYS’s question?

You made it! You got past 30 after all kiddo.

6. What would probably be the best thing to tell YYS?

Get some basic routines going and stop living in the now quite so much.

7. What is something that you probably wouldn’t tell YYS?

Your heart’s going to be doomed for almost the next two decades.

8. What do you think will most surprise YYS about you?

That I get to sleep more than 4 hours a night.

9. What do you think will least surprise YYS?

I’m a grumpy sod.

10. At this point in your life, would YYS like to run into “you” from the future?

Yes, very much. I was desperate for a queer mentor.

About ulla

queer. antisocial. verbose. View all posts by ulla

10 responses to “the time travel meme

  • ben

    I love all your selves and one day I hope to run into one of you.
    XO

    • ulla

      Wow – was thinking about you yesterday – I miss your presence in the blogosphere, you’re one of the few people who can make my ribs ache in a good way. I guess you’re still living at facebook?

  • Ben

    I’m not much of a presence online at all lately. FB pisses me off, Twitter is lame. I miss blogging and blog people. Bring back MB please.

    • ulla

      i was talking about that very thing with deadonthesofa last night actually – how much we miss mb. i think twitter and fb are good for the sociable fortune cookie approach, but one does not *write* – it all ends up diffused across cyberspace in non-nutritiously fun little nuggets.

      so. are you writing? because the world is poorer if you’re not.

      • ben

        Thank you for saying that. I haven’t been writing but my therapist (yay therapy!) suggested I start again. My blog is a ghost town these days though so if I do I might need a fresh start or at the very least a good dusting.

        I can’t even stand most of my FB “friends”, I miss my real friends, my blog friends. I miss that sense of community. All of this short attention span, 140 character communication is not enough for me. I am a little verbose… as you may know. :)

        Why haven’t any of our geeky buddies come up with something? We don’t need anything fancy, just a place that brings us all together. Makes me want to be a damn coder!

  • Leslie

    interesting to read this being a 20 year old who very much needs a queer mentor

  • ulla

    @ben – well there’s efx3 … Kinda .. Didn’t work for me though.

    You’re awesome when you’re verbose, I really miss your writing a lot. And wow therapy..that’s a big step! Hugs.

  • ben

    It never worked for me either… I thought it went tits up.

    Anyway, I will make more effort to keep in touch because I’ve missed you dammit!

  • ulla

    Same here ben and I really do hope you blog again …

Leave a Reply

