call it QITs

LGBTQI. Why? LGB is queer.

Queer Intersex Transgender.

Who did I leave out?

About ulla

queer. antisocial. verbose. View all posts by ulla

9 responses to “call it QITs

  • daytodaydreamer

    I’ve heard: LGBT2QQIA
    Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgendered/Transsexual 2-Spirit Queer Questioning Intersex Ally

    Or alphabet soup :)

  • Moominboy

    Hmm… what’s Intersex and Queer in this definition? I’m an ignorant moomin :(

  • Victoria Oldham

    We had this discussion the other day on the way to work. What if you dont want to be associated with any of the letters? What if you want your own? Or what if you are one letter of the acronym, but have nothing to do with the others? why are all the “alternatives” lumped together?

    • ulla

      then you secede :) i don’t think anyone’s ever forced to declare their identity or associate with anyone else’s?

      • Victoria Oldham

        I believe my partner wishes to secede! While I believe that the letters bring provide a loose inclusion, a sense of “I belong somewhere”. And if you invade a space where the letters do not clearly apply to you, people can get quite agitated.
        I think my concern with the Q as an application to myself is the original meaning of something being odd or unusual or different–I just want to be me, alphabetless.

        • ulla

          ja, the acronyms make a person feel like a diagnosis instead of a human. me, i guess i would stand up and say i was any category or acronym you like, if it meant i was identifying with anyone or any group that was being shat upon. lgbt irks me. i have issues with a lot of the words people use to describe me, but i would rather just claim them, reclaim them, try to deflect their insulting properties…than say no i refuse to be classified at all. as fond as i am of the sort of pomo buddhism that says everything is nothing nothing is everything om om om…it hasnt worked any better than the alternative/s.

          but i totally get what you are saying and i think it is valid.

  • Victoria Oldham

    I believe my partner wishes to secede! While I believe that the letters provide a loose inclusion, a sense of “I belong somewhere”. And if you invade a space where the letters do not clearly apply to you, people can get quite agitated.
    I think my concern with the Q as an application to myself is the original meaning of something being odd or unusual or different–I just want to be me, alphabetless.

Leave a Reply

